Miso Egg Drop Soup

Hello interworlds, it’s Thursday and I’m in day 4 of post-Sandy lock down.  There’s now limited MTA service and a shuttle running between Williamsburg and Manhattan but I still feel pretty cut off from the outside world.  The LES, soho and the village are still without power and I’m really grateful to be able to type comfortably from my apartment right now.  The one thing Sandy has allowed me to do is eat lots and lots of food, being trapped in my apartment makes me really hungry :p.  It’s also getting chillier out lately so my snack food has revolved around soups and this is one of my new favs.  I really love mixing soups, when I go to Medina, an awesome little cafe on 17th and 6th, I frequently mix 2 or 3 of their soups together into one delicious soup.  This recipe is essentially just that, two soups I love mixed together – miso egg drop soup.  I’m sure any mixture of vegetables and tofu would taste great in this soup, I just have a lot of kale on hand so that’s what I’ve been adding.

 

Ingredients:

1 – 2 tablespoons light miso, I use South River Chickpea Miso

1 egg

1/2 tablespoon garlic and/or ginger

handful of vegies, I’m using kale

juice from 1 lemon wedge

couple of spritz of bragg’s liquid amino’s

scallions to top

1 large bowl of water (that’s how I measure how much water to use since I’m making just a bowl for myself)

Boil the water with the garlic/ginger, vegies and bragg’s.

In a separate bowl beat the egg.

 

When the vegies are cooked how you like them turn the water off.  Pour half the egg mixture into the pot, stirring gently in one direction.  Pour the other half of the egg mixture in, stirring in the other direction.

 

 

spoon your miso into your soup bowl and add just a splash of the hot water from your soup to make a paste

 

slowly add the rest of the water, stirring the entire time.  Top with green onions and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

