Vegetarian Collard Greens

Mmmmm… collard greens went from a vegetable I’d never cooked to my favorite dish faster than Sandy’s hurricane winds.  The method and spices I use to cook my collard greens is a cross between Indian and Southern style.  I also like my collard greens spicy so feel free to modify this recipe depending on your spice level.

 

collard greens are so so good for you – they help prevent cancer, are anti-inflammatory, help to detox the body, are an anti-oxidant, contain Vit C, Vit E, manganese, and beta-carotene.  If you don’t know about Bragg’s liquid amino’s than it’s time you get yourself some!  Bragg’s tastes like soy sauce but is gluten-free and consists of all the major amino acids, I like the spray bottle for an easy all-over application.  Believe it or not jalapeno’s are actually good for you so go nuts and spice it up girl!  Just one jalapeno contains more than a day’s value of vitamin C, with way less calories and sugar than an orange.  Jalapeno’s are also full of vit K, vit E, potassium, antioxidants, and capsaicin!  Cumin has antiseptic properties that can help fight colds and flu, they also contain iron and can aid in digestion.  So without further ado – vegie collard greens!

Ingredients:

Half a bunch of collard greens

1-2 jalapenos

1-2 cloves of garlic

half teaspoon of cumin seed

1/2 onion

worcestershire sauce

bragg’s or soy sauce

1/2 cup water for cooking

1 heaping spoon plain unsweetened yogurt

First I cook the onions, I fry them in about a half teaspoon of coconut oil for flavor but you can use whatever oil you like.  Also I always cook my collards in a cast-iron skillet.  When the onions are close to caramelized I add the jalapeno, cumin and the garlic and cook until fragrant

 

Then I add the collards and about a half cup of water.  I turn the heat down to a low simmer and let the greens cook until they are good and soft adding more water as necessary.  Towards the end of the cooking time I begin to season with a couple dashes of worcestershire sauce.  I wait until I finish the greens before adding the bragg’s as I find it burns in the pan if I add it to early

 

When the greens are good and soft I bowl them up and mix in a heaping spoon of yogurt and then I grub the entire bowl

Leave a Reply

